What is a typical day like?
On the early shift, I start at 5.30 in the morning and start by preparing the tool. During the shift handover, I find out what happened on the previous shift. So for example whether there were any quality issues or other anomalies that I need to focus on in particular during the day. Then my shift begins.
My shifts change weekly, so I work one week on the early shift (from 5.30a, to 1.30pm) and the next week on the late shift (from 1.30pm to 9.30pm).


What tasks do you carry out a lot? What tasks have you learned to do up until now?
Changing the rolls, packing rolls, entering in SAP, opening fibre bales. Also making sure the weight and thickness are correct when checking the nonwoven. If the grammage isn't right, I change the setting on the mixing equipment, and lots of other jobs. When there is a shift change, I check that the extraction isn't obstructed. I generally have to keep my eyes peeled at all times to make sure everything is working.


What other departments are you learning about during your apprenticeship?
My training plan includes assignments in packaging, in the laboratory, in metalworking and in production. So I will become familiar with the departments further along and will have a better understanding of how they work and what they do.


Where is your main place of work?
Currently at production line 4. I am currently working on the mixing equipment there. That is where the fibres (our raw material) are blended and prepared for the further manufacturing process.


What do you enjoy most about the work? What do you like best?
I like working on the large machines. I enjoy taking responsibility.


What things hadn't you expected beforehand? What surprised you about the apprenticeship?
When there are problems with the nonwovens plant, we have to identify the issue quickly and resolve it. It is very challenging, but then it's great when we have found the fault and the plant is running smoothly again.


Which vocational college do you attend? What is a typical day like at your vocational college?
I attend the textiles college in Münchberg. Because it is in Bavaria, we have teaching in blocks. That means that we spend two weeks at a time there. During these block phase, I live in the 'AWO Wohnheim' student accommodation. Around 90 to 95% of the vocational students are housed there. You of course have to be very independent during these periods. I get at 7.00 in the morning, and get to college etc. The teaching specialises in textiles in particular, which is a big advantage, but also quite challenging at times. After each college block, we apprentices discuss the content with our trainers in the company so that we can make a better connection between theory and practice, and clarify any unanswered questions.


Which subjects are you studying at vocational college?
German, Technical Drawing, Weaving, Nonwovens, Yarn Production, Production Planning, Social Studies, Maths etc.


What tips can you give applicants who are applying for this apprenticeship?
I recommend first doing an internship as a Production Engineer. So you will know what is expected of you and have an idea of what working on big machines involves.


How are you supported at TWE during yourapprenticeship?
We receive help when there are problems. My first point of contact is actually my trainer. But the bosses, shift leaders and other colleagues in the plants answer my questions and help me as well. All the apprentices meet with our managers on a regular basis. You can get things off your chest there if something isn't going so well, or you have requirements or questions with respect to the training. For example, at the last meeting we talked about the fact that we are all going to Frankfurt together this year to a large trade fair for technical textiles so that we can see what happens with the products that we manufacture, and how a trade fair like this is organised.


Do you have any plans once you complete your apprenticeship?
I would like to carry on working at TWE for a few years and then train as an Engineer.


When you think back, what were your first days at TWE like?
In the beginning, everything was completely new to me, of course. A lot of unfamiliar faces, new work tasks, a different environment, enormous production facilities. But over time you get to know people and everything that's going on, and you feel more and more at home. In the beginning, I had to assert myself with my new colleagues. If they have a good impression of you, they will help you wherever they can.

Wie sieht Dein Arbeitsalltag aus?

In der Frühschicht fange ich um 5.30 Uhr an und beginne damit, das Werkzeug vorzubereiten. Bei der Schichtübergabe erfahre ich, was in der Schicht vorher los war. Also zum Beispiel, ob es Qualitätsprobleme gab oder andere Besonderheiten, auf die ich heute besonders achten sollte. Dann beginnt meine Schicht. Meine Schichten wechseln wöchentlich, das heißt ich arbeite eine Woche früh (von 5.30 bis 13.30 Uhr) und die darauffolgende Woche spät (von 13.30 bis 21.30 Uhr).

Welche Aufgaben machst Du häufig? Welche Aufgaben hast Du bisher kennengelernt?

Rollenwechsel, Rollen einpacken, in SAP buchen, Faserballen öffnen. Außerdem beim Vliesstoff prüfen, ob Gewicht und Dicke passen. Wenn die Grammatur nicht in Ordnung ist, die Einstellung der Mischanlage verändern u.v.m. Beim Partiewechsel überprüfe ich die Absaugung, ob sie frei ist. Generell muss ich immer die Augen offen halten, ob alles funktioniert.

Wo ist Dein Hauptarbeitsplatz?

Derzeit an der Anlage 4. Dort arbeite ich im Moment viel an der Mischanlage. Dort werden die Fasern (unser Ausgangsmaterial) gemischt und für den weiteren Fertigungsprozess vorbereitet.

Welche Bereiche lernst Du sonst noch im Rahmen der Ausbildung kennen?

In meinem Ausbildungsplan stehen Einsätze in der Verpackung, im Labor, in der Schlosserei und in der Produktion an. So lerne ich auch angrenzende Bereiche kennen und kann deren Arbeitsweise und Aufgaben besser nachvollziehen.

Was macht Dir bei der Arbeit am meisten Spaß? Was gefällt Dir am besten?

Ich arbeite sehr gern an den großen Maschinen. Es ist schön, wenn ich Verantwortung übernehmen kann.

Was hättest Du vorher nicht erwartet? Was hat Dich bei der Ausbildung überrascht?

Wenn es Probleme mit der Vliesanlage gibt, kommt es darauf an, dass man schnell das Problem finden und lösen kann. Das ist sehr anspruchsvoll und auch toll, wenn wir den Fehler dann gefunden haben und die Anlage wieder reibungslos läuft.

Zu welcher Berufsschule gehst Du? Wie sieht Dein Alltag in der Berufsschule aus?

Ich gehe auf die Textilfachschule in Münchberg. Weil diese in Bayern liegt, haben wir Blockunterricht. Das heißt, wir sind dann zwei Wochen am Stück dort. Während dieser Blockphasen wohne ich im „AWO Wohnheim“. Hier sind circa 90 bis 95 % der Berufsschüler untergebracht. In der Zeit muss man natürlich sehr selbstständig sein. Um 7.00 Uhr aufstehen, in die Schule fahren usw. Der Unterricht ist extra auf Textilien spezialisiert, was zwar ein großer Vorteil ist, aber teilweise auch ziemlich anspruchsvoll. Nach jedem Schulblock besprechen wir Azubis den Inhalt mit unserem Ausbilder im Unternehmen, um Theorie und Praxis besser miteinander verbinden zu können und um offene Fragen zu klären.

Welche Fächer hast Du in der Berufsschule?

Deutsch, Technisches Zeichnen, Weberei, Vliesstoffe, Garnerzeugung, Produktionsplanung, Sozialkunde, Mathe etc.

Wie wirst Du bei TWE in der Ausbildung betreut?

Wir bekommen Hilfe, wenn es Probleme gibt. Mein erster Ansprechpartner ist eigentlich mein Ausbilder. Aber auch die Meister, Schichtführer und die anderen Kollegen an den Anlagen stehen mir bei Fragen zur Seite und helfen mir. Regelmäßig treffen wir uns mit allen Azubis mit unserer Ausbildungsleiterin. Hier kann man mal loswerden, wenn etwas nicht so gut läuft oder wenn man Wünsche oder Fragen zur Ausbildung hat. Zum Beispiel haben wir beim letzten Treffen besprochen, dass wir dieses Jahr alle zusammen zu einer großen Messe für technische Textilien nach Frankfurt fahren, damit wir sehen, was mit den Produkten passiert, die wir herstellen und wie so eine Messe abläuft.

Welche Tipps hast Du für Bewerber, die sich für diesen Ausbildungsberuf bewerben?

Ich empfehle, vorher ein Praktikum als Produktionsmechaniker zu machen. Dann weiß man, was einen erwartet und hat schon eine Vorstellung von der Arbeit an großen Maschinen.

Hast Du schon Pläne nach der Ausbildung?

Ich würde gerne ein paar Jahre als Geselle bei TWE arbeiten und dann meinen Techniker machen.

Wenn Du Dich mal zurückerinnerst, wie waren Deine ersten Tagen bei TWE?

Alles war natürlich ganz neu für mich. Viele unbekannte Gesichter, neue Aufgaben, eine ungewohnte Umgebung, riesige Produktionsanlagen. Aber im Laufe der Zeit lernt man die Leute und alles Drumherum kennen und fühlt sich immer wohler. Ich musste mich bei den neuen Kollegen erst behaupten. Wenn sie dann einen guten Eindruck bekommen haben, helfen sie, wo sie nur können.