How would you describe a typical day at work, and what are typical tasks at TWE for a student completing a dual course of studies?
What my day at work looks like and what tasks I have to complete always depend to a great extent on the departments I am working in. At TWE, as a student completing a dual course of studies, I generally work my way through the same departments as an apprentice in the commercial field. This is because my course of studies is connected to an industrial management assistant apprenticeship. As a result, I gain insights into almost every department of our company and get to know the work sequences and the tasks. In the HR department, for instance, I assume responsibility for the correspondence with applicants and am involved in the work with apprentices.
In the laboratory, I got to know almost all our testing methods and thus also gained an insight into quality assurance.
Due to the flexitime model at TWE, I am able to vary my daily hours to complete the respective tasks. "Most of the time, I start at about 7:30 a.m. and then take my lunch break at about 12:30 p.m. together with the other apprentices and colleagues. At about 4:30 p.m. I end my day's work.

What do you enjoy most about the work? What do you like best?
I am always happy about concluding a project successfully and really appreciate that I am able to solve tasks independently and autonomously.
Particularly interesting in this regard is also the combination between the theory from my course of studies and the practical implementation in the company. At work, I often notice that I am thinking about a lecture and suddenly find a real-life example for the professor's words.

To what extent have you developed further at a personal level during your training?
Within the context of my studies, TWE has given me the opportunity to complete a semester abroad in Australia and, subsequently, to work in our Chinese subsidiary in Hangzhou for a month. Thanks to this, I improved my English proficiency enormously and have also become more independent at a personal level, in addition to having gathered a great deal of experience.

When you think back, what were your first days at TWE like?
I got to know TWE a couple of years ago as an intern while I was still at school. Already then, I really enjoyed being there and felt right at home among the many friendly and helpful colleagues. I am happy to be a part of all of this now.

Where is your main place of work?
During my first 1.5 years at TWE, I gained experience in all key departments such as sales, procurement and financial accounting. Currently, I am getting to know controlling.

What other departments are you getting to know during your training?
In addition to the usual departments, I could also get to know the work sequences in production and design. The data I entered in our system was found in practice again in production . TWE gave me the possibility to gain insights in all steps, from order placement to the completion and delivery of our non-wovens and to understand the internal processes, having experienced them in practice.

Which vocational college do you attend? What is a typical day like at the vocational college and the administrative academy? Which subjects are taught there?
Every semester, I have block teaching lectures for about 8-10 weeks. The lectures always vary greatly and last until about 3:00 p.m. In the subjects like general business economics, accounting, marketing and economics, we learn what we need to know to master the daily challenges at work. What is more, there also are lectures on legal topics that acquaint us with commercial law and civil law.

How are you supported at TWE during your training?
I really enjoy being at TWE. Whenever I have questions or problems, I always have numerous contact persons who support me in word and deed. There always was a feedback conversation after having completed my time at a specific department. This allowed me to continuously improve with regard to some aspects. Training offers and other further education offers allow me to develop continuously.

Which tips do you have for applicants?
You should definitely be open for something new. I learnt a lot during my dual course of studies and gained a great deal of experience. What is more, one should be interested in business topics.

Do you have any plans once you complete your training?
Because the chances of being offered an employment contract at TWE are very good, I would like to make use of this opportunity and work in the controlling area on a daily basis.

Wie sieht Dein Arbeitsalltag aus und was sind typische Aufgaben eines dualen Studenten bei TWE?

Mein Arbeitsalltag und meine Aufgaben hängen immer stark von den Abteilungen ab in denen ich tätig bin. Als dualer Student durchlaufe ich generell dieselben Abteilungen wie ein kaufmännischer Azubi bei TWE, da mein Studium mit einer Ausbildung zur Industriekauffrau gekoppelt ist. Deshalb bekomme ich Einblicke in fast jede Abteilung unseres Unternehmens und lerne die Abläufe sowie Aufgaben kennen. So übernehme ich beispielsweise in der Personalabteilung die Korrespondenz mit Bewerbern und werde bei der Betreuung der Auszubildenden einbezogen.

Im Labor lernte ich nahezu alle unsere Prüfverfahren kennen und erhielt dadurch einen Einblick in die Qualitätssicherung.

Auf Grund des Gleitzeitmodells bei TWE bin ich in der Lage meinen Tag zeitlich meinen jeweiligen Aufgaben anzupassen. Meistens beginne ich meinen Tag gegen 07:30 Uhr und mache ca.um 12:30 Uhr gemeinsam mit den anderen Auszubildenden und Kollegen meine Mittagspause. Gegen 16:30 Uhr geht es für mich dann in den wohlverdienten Feierabend.

Was macht Dir bei der Arbeit am meisten Spaß? Was gefällt Dir am besten?

Ich freue mich jedes Mal wieder über ein erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Projekt und schätze es sehr, dass ich selbstständig und eigenverantwortlich Aufgaben lösen kann.

Besonders interessant ist es für mich dabei die Theorie meines Studiums mit der Praxis im Unternehmen zu verbinden. Ich merke immer wieder, dass ich während der Arbeit an eine Vorlesung zurück denke und plötzlich ein reales Beispiel für die Worte des Professors finde.

In wie fern hast Du Dich im Rahmen der Ausbildung persönlich weiterentwickelt?

TWE hat mir im Rahmen meines Studiums die Möglichkeit gegeben ein Auslandssemester in Australien zu absolvieren und im Anschluss noch einen Monat in unserer chinesischen Niederlassung in Hangzhou zu arbeiten. Ich konnte dadurch mein englisches Sprachniveau enorm steigern und bin auch persönlich noch selbstständiger geworden und habe viele tolle Erfahrungen gesammelt.

Wenn Du Dich mal zurückerinnerst, wie waren Deine ersten Tage bei TWE?

Kennengelernt habe ich TWE vor einigen Jahren während meinem Schülerpraktikum. Schon damals habe ich mich unter den vielen netten und hilfsbereiten Kollegen sehr wohl gefühlt. Ich bin froh jetzt ein Teil davon zu sein.

Wo ist dein Hauptarbeitsplatz?

In meinen ersten 1,5 Jahren hier bei TWE bin ich alle wesentlichen Abteilungen wie z.B. Vertrieb, Einkauf, Finanzbuchhaltung durchlaufen. Zurzeit lerne ich das Controlling kennen.

Welche Bereiche lernst Du sonst noch im Rahmen Deiner Ausbildung kennen?

Zusätzlich zu den üblichen Abteilungen durfte ich auch die Abläufe in der Produktion und der Aufmachung kennenlernen. Die Dinge, die ich in unser System eingab fanden sich in der Produktion in der Praxis wieder. TWE gab mir die Möglichkeit, von einer Bestellung bis zur Fertigstellung und Auslieferung unserer Vliesstoffe dabei zu sein und die internen Prozesse praxisnah zu verstehen.

Zu welcher Berufsschule gehst Du? Wie sieht Dein Alltag in der Berufsschule und der Verwaltungsakademie aus? Welche Fächer werden dort unterrichtet?

Ich habe jedes Semester für ca. 8-10 Wochen Vorlesungen im Blockunterricht. Die Vorlesungen sind immer sehr abwechslungsreich und dauern bis ca. 15 Uhr. In den Fächern wie allgemeine BWL, Kostenrechnung, Marketing und VWL lernen wir alle Dinge, die wir benötigen, um für den Büroalltag gewappnet zu sein. Außerdem werden noch juristische Vorlesungen gegeben, die uns mit Handelsrecht und bürgerlichem Recht vertraut machen.

Wie wirst Du bei TWE in der Ausbildung betreut?

Ich fühle mich hier bei TWE sehr wohl. Ich habe immer mehrere Ansprechpartner, die mir mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen wenn ich Fragen oder Probleme habe. Nach Beendigung einer Abteilung gab es immer ein Feedbackgespräch. Dieses gab mir die Möglichkeit, mich stetig in gewissen Punkten weiter zu verbessern. Schulungsangebote und andere Weiterbildungen ermöglichen mir eine stetige Weiterentwicklung.

Welche Tipps hast Du für Bewerber?

Man sollte auf jeden Fall aufgeschlossen für Neues sein. In meinem Dualen Studium habe ich viel gelernt und viele Erfahrungen machen können. Zudem sollte man Interesse an wirtschaftlichen Themen haben.

Hast Du schon Pläne nach der Ausbildung?

Da die Chancen bei TWE übernommen zu werden sehr gut stehen, möchte ich diese nutzen und täglich im Bereich des Controllings arbeiten.